Dialtone Records Release
Texas Soul Sisters

Various Artists

Texas Soul Sisters

This is a soul and blues celebration — sweet soul music with some up-tempo raw blues from some of the women who helped shape roots music in Texas. Features Glenda Hargis, who comes from a heavy gospel background and is now playing with her brother Matthew Robinson; Lavelle White, who's playing major festivals around the U.S.; Houston blueswoman Gloria Edwards, who's played with Clifton Chenier, Johnny Clyde Copeland, & Joe Hughes; and Miss Candy, known around the state of Texas for her soulful blues.

This is sweet soul music with a dose of raw Texas blues that will also serve as a dance party for the martini hipsters who like to dress to the 9s with the best of the Texas Soul Divas.

Track Listing

Play clip for Flight 449 (Lavelle White) 1. Flight 449 (Lavelle White)
Play clip for I’m Your Hoochie Mama (Gloria Edwards) 2. I’m Your Hoochie Mama (Gloria Edwards)
Play clip for Rain Down Love (Glenda Hargis) 3. Rain Down Love (Glenda Hargis)
  4. You Treat Me So Bad (Miss Candy)
  5. I Want To Know (Lavelle White)
  6. Feet Don’t Fail Me Now (Glenda Hargis)
  7. Better Think About It (Gloria Edwards)
  8. Bad Song (Lavelle White)
  9. H-Town (Edwards)
  10. Keep Your Hands Off Of Him (Glenda Hargis)
  11. That’s Why I Love You (Miss Candy)
  12. Last Train To Nowhere (Gloria Edwards)
  13. Miss Candy’s Groove (Miss Candy)


Produced by: Eddie Stout, Dennis Wall; Mastered at: Sounds Outrageous; Engineered by: Lars Goransson; Recorded at: Music Lane; Photos: Keely Stout. Lavelle White's Band: Bill Campbell: Bass; Paul Mills: Drums; Mike Flanigin: Organ; Nick Gibson: Guitar. Miss Candy's Band: Bill Campbell: Bass; Willie Sampson: Drums; Tom Hunter: Guitar; Mike Flanigin: Organ. Glenda Hargis's Band: Matthew Robinson: Guitar; Burly Manor: Bass; Gilbert Jenkins: Drums; Mike Flanigin: Organ; Marcus Cardwell: Sax; Donald Jennings: Trumpet. Gloria Edwards' Band: Clarence Pierce: Guitar; Charles Shaw: Drums; Mike Flanigin: Organ; Bill Campbell: Bass; Nelson Mills: Trumpet