Dialtone Records Release
Greyhound Blues

Richard Earl, Ervin Charles

Greyhound Blues

Blues fans should and will be shocked that Greyhound Blues is the only solo album Ervin Charles ever recorded and is joined by his long-time friend/collaborator Richard who lays down some soulful vocals. In the early days, Charles' "Hollywood Bare Cats" was one of the first bands to create the swamp pop power trio with only 2 guitars and a drummer.

"If not for this CD, which was recorded last year, most Texans would never have been aware of Beaumont's Ervin Charles, who died on April 1 at age 68 with little more than two credits on 1999's Lone Star Shootout CD to show for a storied, fifty-year career. The ferocious blast of guitar and harp (by producer Paul Orta) that kicks off "So Mean To Me" proves that Ervin meant to remedy that. His brash attack and biting tone move effortlessly from the mathematical precision of B. B. King to the cold, hard edge of Albert Collins. He sings with vulnerability and resolve, adding throaty gasps, grunts, and groans that ride the rhythm or answer his guitar gleefully." —John Morthland, Texas Monthly

Read more about Ervin Charles and Richard Earl

Track Listing

  1. So Mean To Me
Play clip for All I Want Is You 2. All I Want Is You
  3. Greyhound Blues
  4. Sweet Woman’s Love
  5. Jumpin’ With Ervin
  6. My Love is Real
  7. Everyday I Have The Blues
  8. Gulf Coast Boogie
  9. Somewhere Down The Line
  10. You Don’t Have To Go
  11. You Better Change Your Ways


Vocals: Ervin Charles (1, 3, 7, 10, 11), Richard Earl (2, 4, 6, 9); Lead Guitar: Ervin Charles; Guitar: John McVey; Drums: Uncle John Turner; Bass: Pierre Pelegrin; Harmonica: Paul Orta (1, 3, 7, 8, 9); Piano / Organ: Edgar Foster (1, 3, 5, 7, 8); Piano: Richard Earl (4); Recorded at: The Musik Faktory, Port Arthur, TX 6/14/99 by Floyd Badeaux; Produced by: Paul Orta; Mixed at: Top Hat Studio, Austin, TX; Mastered at: Sounds Outrageous by Lars Goransson; Graphic Design: Eve Sunday, Evolve Intl Inc.; Photography: Eddie Stout, Dawn Rae Beall; Liner Notes: Sylvia Jonon; Amplifiers provided by: Dan Moser